When I Was Six

“We shall draw from the heart of suffering itself the means of inspiration and survival.” –Winston Churchill

When I Was Six

When I was six,
I wore cotton print dresses
my mother made for me
from flour sacks.

When I was six,
I waited alone for the school bus
at the top of our driveway
on a busy highway.

When I was six,
I went to the same school
my mother did,
and I walked the hallways
knowing she had done the same before me.

When I was six,
I played with my friends
outside at recess
on the slide and the swing,
and we ran down the hill
and played games in the bushes
on a playground without a fence or locked gate.

When I was six,
I walked in and out of school
through unlocked doors
without metal detectors
or armed guards nearby.

When I was six,
school was a place I loved
and not a place I feared.

When I was six,
every day I went to school,
I also came home.

 

May we never forget the children of Newtown, Connecticut and keep them forever in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

