Illusion

Illusion

The fog hovered over the dark water where the two rivers converged,
hugging the banks and obscuring what was real, creating illusions
.
We walked hand in hand through the mist, the future far ahead of us.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *  *   *

In the middle of the dance floor
with his arms around me tight,
I thought I caught a glimpse of you
in the fading evening light.

You were there so close to me.
I’d know you anywhere,
those eyes I loved so long ago,
that shock of light brown hair.

I remember how we danced one night,
the way your hand held mine.
I remember walks on darkened streets
through rain in soft spring time.

We were so young those years ago,
so happy and so free.
But then one quiet night in May
you walked away from me.

I don’t know why you’re here tonight,
how you found your way to me.
Could it be just an illusion,
some reluctant memory?

I have loved you every moment
since the day that we first met.
I wish I were dancing with you tonight
instead of with regret.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

The fog cleared as daylight came.  The river bank was deserted,
illusion now what’s real. 

 

 

One thought on “Illusion

  1. Beautiful poem and wonderful closing lines.

Leave a Reply

