A New Year, A New Beginning

“Our greatest glory is not in never failing but in rising up every time we fail.”
—Ralph Waldo Emerson

A new year, so many new goals.  I think the word “resolution” is not a good one for me since it seems to suggest I can actually do something with some degree of success.  Instead, I am just going to set some goals for myself.  One goal is to work on this blog!  I  started by changing the theme and adding inspirational quotes at the top.  I suspect the one who needs inspiration is me more than anyone else, but maybe this is the year I will be inspired more often.

I recently completed a memoir about my sister and me, and after many attempts to find a publisher or an agent, I have resigned myself to either self-publishing the book or putting it away for good.  I hesitate to do either one and so I procrastinate and worry that the book is not good enough to make the grade.

I would like to make more greeting cards for cancer patients.  I never seem to really make enough.  I am donating cards to the Molly Wilmot Radiation Oncology Center at Saratoga Hospital, but I also want to make cards for others to buy for friends and family members with cancer.  I have a roomful of inspirational stamps, bird stamps, angel stamps, nature stamps, and much more.  It’s a little overwhelming!  But with so many choices, so much paper, so much ink, so many embellishments, so much ribbon (four boxes of ribbon!) and new tools, I should be happily stamping away all day.

What gets in my way of accomplishing more?  I’d like to find excuses.  I know I could.  My eighty-nine-year-old mother is finally feeling her age and requires daily visits from me.  I check her blood pressure and drive her to the store for groceries.  I sometimes drive the car she no longer will drive, just to keep it running.  I have a needy dog and cat and a very forgetful husband.  I talk daily to my daughters and almost daily to my granddaughters.  I have a house to clean and exercises to do and friends to go to lunch with.  Are those enough excuses?

In reality, this is the year I need to stop the excuses, like so many of us decide to do January 1, and start pushing to accomplish what I want to achieve at this stage of my life.  So the inspirational quotes will appear with every post, and hopefully new poems will come to me in the middle of the night, and creativity in many areas will come to me this year, 2012, a new year and a new start for us all.

Leave a Reply

