LoveLight

The wonderful thing about love is that it is never limited to just one moment in our lives.  We love often, we love and lose and love again, we love many in a variety of ways.  Always, however, love sustains us through difficult times.  I wrote this poem for my youngest daughter during a difficult time in college, but today it seems appropriate for my oldest daughter who is grieving today over the loss of a dear pet.

LoveLight

If my love for you were a candle,
It would burn ’til the end of my life,
Softglowing beneath life’s tumult,
Peacefully calming your strife.

It would light up the corners of darkness
That haunt you during long nights
And warm you in life’s coldest moments
Melting your fears with its light.

If my love for you were a candle,
It’d defy the strongest of blows,
Flickering calm in the windstorm,
Dancing with hope as it glows.

For my love for you is so steady,
It calms the roughest of seas.
If my love for you were a candle,
It would burn for you endlessly.

© Barbara Flass 1994

One thought on “LoveLight

  1. Cindi Flass says:

    Thank you mom 🙂 I love you!

Leave a Reply

