Trumpeter Swans

Trumpeter Swans

Every time spring arrives at the lake,
I glance at the tall reeds
along the swampy shore
looking for the swans.

There were once there,
a pair of them and their nest,
waiting for the eggs to hatch,
waiting for new life.

I remember it well
because it was the spring you died,
and I remember how no eggs hatched,
how new life did not come.

I remember how the swans left
soon after you left me fatherless,
before I could say to you
all the words I wanted to
but after all the words I regret.

The swans never returned,
but still every spring I watch for them,
waiting for forgiveness,
for a sign that new life will come again.

One thought on “Trumpeter Swans

  1. easylifestyles says:

    Another great post. Thanks for sharing this. Spending time to sit down writing short stories and poems is something I truly enjoy in life.

    A Great Day for Spring – Poem

Leave a Reply

